A Moveable Feast

My work is in their blog!! This is amazing!

textingthecity

On my road trip to Vancouver Island this summer, I picked up Ernest Hemingway’s A Moveable Feast in a used bookstore. I finally read it the other week. Although I am not a huge fan of Hemingway’s writing (based on the one book I’ve read, For Whom the Bell Tolls), I thoroughly enjoyed the sketches of his Parisian life.

This memoir was published posthumously in 1964 and describes his time in Paris from 1921-1926 when he was pursuing a career as a novelist in his early 20s, in love with the city and in love with his wife, Hadley Richardson.

He would later go on to have three more wives, but as his last words of the book say:

But this is how Paris was in the early days when we were very poor and very happy.

From this, you can tell his memories slide between bitter and…

View original post 759 more words

2 thoughts on “A Moveable Feast

  1. hi Sucontha! Thanks so much for reposting my blog. I love your whimsical, thoughtful illustrations – I’m so glad I came across your work!

Leave a Reply

